Alexis Gomez crowned Miss Downey, Danielle Padilla Miss Teen Downey

DOWNEY – Alexis Gomez was crowned Miss Downey at the Downey Rose Float Association’s 61st annual Miss Downey Pageant on March 21 at the Downey Theatre. Her court includes Lauren Martinez, Cristal Meza, Haley Griffith and Krystal Serna.

Danielle Padilla was crowned Miss Teen Downey. Teen princesses include Tyler Garcia, Aveonna Bobbit, and Katin Cedarholm.

The title of Junior Miss Downey went to Darlene Monzon. Her court includes Ciera Gaitan, Ashley Rojas, and Brittany Jimenez.

Alyssa Mayer was crowned Little Miss Downey. Little princesses include Lainee Rhodes and Czarina Kinshasa.

“We are extremely proud to have been hosting the Miss Downey Pageant for 61 years,” the Downey Rose Float Association said in a statement. “Downey produces amazing youth who are smart, talented and compassionate. They serve as ambassadors for the Downey Rose Float and the city in many local events throughout their reign.

“We would like to thank all of the volunteers, sponsors, parents and contestants for another successful year.”

Below is a complete list of competition winners:

Talent Little 1st Place – Alyssa Mayer, 2nd Place – Hannah Drow; Junior 1st Place – Laila Sabir, 2nd Place – Rachel Stender; Teen 1st Place – Amina Bolden, 2nd Place – Danielle Padilla; Miss 1st Place – Krystal Serna, 2nd Place – Shanice Dickson; Athletic Little - Zoe Chavez; Junior – Darlene Monzon; Teen – Jessica Manteca; Miss – Haley Griffith; Photogenic Little: Celine Bautista; Junior: Brittany Jimenez; Teen: Danielle Padilla; Miss: Monica Toscano; Essay Little 1st Place – Czarina Kinshasa; Teen 1st Place – Tyler Garcia, 2nd Place – Katin Cedarholm; Miss 1st Place – Lauren Martinez, 2nd Place – Astrid Chaidez (no junior contestants in essay); Entrepreneur Little: Emilia Dipiazza; Junior: Rachel Stender; Teen: Danielle Padilla; Miss: Astrid Chaidez; Little/Junior Congeniality: Ashley Rojas; Miss/Teen Congeniality: Lauren Martinez; Academic Little: Czarina Kinshasa; Junior: Madison Aldape; Teen: Katin Cedarholm; Miss: Natalie Madrigal; Volunteer Little: Allie Marie Hanks; Junior: Rachel Stender; Teen Viridiana Ontiveros; Miss: Cristal Meza; People’s Choice Skyla Orozco; Directors Choice: Little – Zoe Chavez; Junior – Rachel Stender; Teen – Natalie Venegas; Miss – Astrid Chaidez; Funwear: Little – Alyssa Mayer; Junior – Darlene Munzon; Teen – Aveonna Bobbit; Miss – Lauren Martinez; Business Wear: Little – Lainee Rhodes; Junior – Brittany Jimenez; Teen – Danielle Padilla; Miss – Krystal Serna; Evening Gown: Little – Lainee Rhodes; Junior – Ashley Rojas; Teen – Tyler Garcia; Miss – Cristal Meza; Additional Awards for Littles Only: Little Miss Sugarplum – Valerie Medina, Little Miss Star-bright – Qiujie Pradel, Little Miss Smiley – Mariah Aldape, Little Miss Moonbeam – Chelsea Jimenez, Little Miss Lolly Pop – Nicole Monzon, Little Miss Cuteness – Jocelynn Hernandez, Little Miss Bubbles – Skyla Orozco, Little Miss Adorable – Jordan Payan, Little Miss Precious – Emilia Dipiazza, Little Miss Twinkles – Mia Vargas, Little Miss Sunbeam – Hannah Drow, Little Miss Angel – Celine Bautista, Little Miss Daisy – Sabrina Turnbaugh, Little Miss Blossom – Allie Hanks, Little Miss Wonderful – Zoe Chavez, Little Miss Happy – Sophia Mungia, Little Miss Twinkles – Madison Roberson, Little Miss Diamond – Juliette Ramirez,



Published: April 9, 2015 - Volume 13 - Issue 52