Cerritos College students graduate with honors

NORWALK - Cerritos College's Scholars' Honors Program honored its 48 graduates May 1 during its 15th annual graduation ceremony.The graduates received bronze medallions for completing the full SHP curriculum of five honors courses while maintaining a 3.0 grade point average in transferable courses. Honoring the SHP students at the ceremony were the Cerritos College board members Dr. Ted Edmiston, Dr. Bob Hughlett, Tom Jackson and Jean McHatton. From the administration president Dr. Linda Lacy, interim vice president of academic affairs Dr. Marilyn Brock, vice president of student services Dr. Stephen Johnson, dean of counseling Dr. Renée De Long Chomiak, dean of liberal arts David Fabish and dean of fine arts Connie Mayfield joined in celebrating the SHP students' accomplishment. SHP director Timothy Juntilla was master of ceremonies. "Students have received acceptances to four-year schools including CSUs, UCs, USC, Columbia University, MIT, Mills College, and Azusa Pacific University," said Juntilla. Following Juntilla's greetings, medallions were presented to the graduates. As the ceremony concluded, Juntilla announced the three winners of the sixth annual Juntilla SHP Scholarship. Three outstanding students Tanya Edmilao, Danielle Horsman and Jang Kim each received a $500 check and a certificate.

********** Published: May 24, 2012 - Volume 11 - Issue 06