Water board members sworn-in

COMMERCE - Nearly 200 residents, dignitaries and community leaders attended the Central Basin Municipal Water District board of directors installation Jan. 7.The oath of office was administered by Rep. Grace Napolitano (D-Norwalk), who was recently reelected to her seventh term in the House of Representatives. Director Phillip Hawkins was sworn into his fourth term and directors James Roybal and Leticia Vasquez were sworn into their first terms on the board. Hawkins was reelected in June 2012 to represent Division V, which includes the cities of Artesia, Bellflower, Cerritos, Hawaiian Gardens, Lakewood, Paramount and Signal Hill. Roybal, who has served as vice president of the Pico Water Dsitrict, was elected in June 2012 to represent Division I, which includes Bell Gardens, Downey, Montebello, Pico Rivera, West Whittier and unincorporated areas of Los Angeles County. Vasquez, also elected in June 2012, represents Division IV, which includes Lynwood, South Gate, Florence-Graham, Willowbrook, Compton and Carson. She is a former mayor and council member for Lynwood.

********** Published: January 17, 2013 - Volume 11 - Issue 40