Local volunteers get recognition

DOWNEY - More than two dozen Downey civic leaders were honored by the Downey Coordinating Council on Thursday at its 59th annual Community Volunteer Service Awards.Honorees will be honored for their service to their respective organizations and the community as a whole. Honorees include Robert Sechrist (Aerospace Legacy Foundation), Mary Sigler (American Business Woman's Assn. El Dorado chapter); Joan Frey (Assistance League of Downey), Anna Orozco (Christian Women's Club of Downey), Jan Scott (Downey Chamber of Commerce), Nancy Krusbe (Downey City Library), Katherine Blackburn (Downey Coordinating Council), De Anne Kiralla (Downey Council PTA HELPS), Christine De La Torre (Downey YMCA), Hugh Hoskins (Downey Historical Society), Lenora Perri (Downey Lions Club), Peggy Jamieson (Downey Moravian Church), Pam Lee (Downey Museum of Art), Kim Yeager (Downey Newcomer's Club), Delores Santolla (Downey Regional Medical Center Auxiliary), Pam Chambers (Downey Rose Float Association), Richard Rubio (Downey Sister Cities), Mary and Gene Hauk (Downey Symphony Guild), Helen Hoag (Downey Symphonic Society), Ed Trasoras (Downey United Methodist Church), Daniel Rosales (Food Help), Kathy Callahan (Friends of the Downey City Library), Michelle Frase (Keep Downey Beautiful), John Stuffler (Knights of Columbus), Mary Ellen Dunne (Living Help Center), Charlene McCluskey (OLPH Women's Guild), Jackie Pardo (Optimist Club of Downey), Beverly Mathis (Rancho Los Amigos National Rehabilitation Center), Giggy Saab (Soroptimist International of Downey), George Redfox (Downey Conservancy), Evelyn Martinez (TLC Family Resource Center) and Cynthia Deack (Woman's Club of Downey). Also at the event, the coordinating council will install its new officers, which include president Cleola Brown, first VP Mary Guzman, second VP Kathy Blackburn, secretary Carol Kearns, treasurer Beth Gendreau and auditor Bobbie Bruce. Appointed positions include Richard Daggett (inspiration), Mary Guzman (hospitality), Dr. George Bridges (sunshine) and Lois Buchanan (banquet chairman).

********** Published: May 9, 2013 - Volume 12 - Issue 04