Bellflower has a new queen

BELLFLOWER – Rachel Udabe was crowned Miss Bellflower Queen at a competition April 4 at the Hosanna Chapel. Her court includes princesses Samantha Salmon, Betty Gonzalez and Shiena Bas.

Miss Teen Queen went to Trisha Howland. Her princess court consists of Hannah Mercado, Jennifer Sarabia and Natalie Wilson.

Judges this year were NFL Hall of Famer Ron Yary; retired Bellflower Unified superintendent Rick Kemppainen; former Assemblyman Phil Hawkins; former costumer and volunteer Robin Rae Robinson; and Artesia Councilman Ali Sajjad Taj.

The judges had the task of selecting the new courts through an interview process held at an earlier date and scoring the competition.

Contestants opened the show with a dance created in collaboration with Desiree Walston and last year’s court. The theme of this year’s show was “Timeless Classics.”

Contestants were then judged in various categories, including business wear, evening gown, onstage questions and more.

The 2012-13 courts also said their final farewells. Each titleholder received certificates from Congresswoman Lucile Roybal-Allard and Linda Sanchez, Sen. Diane Feinstein, Assemblywoman Cristina Garcia, Bellflower Mayor, Sonny Santa Innes, council members Dan Koops and Ron Schnablegger, Supervisor Don Knabe, Bellflower Unified superintendent Dr. Brian Jacobs, and school board president Laura Sanchez Ramirez.

Assemblywoman Garcia also presented scholarships for volunteerism and scholastic achievement, along with scholarships from Soroptimist International of Bellflower.



Published: April 17, 2014 - Volume 13 - Issue 01