Can golf carts be driven on the sidewalk?
Q: Is it permissible to drive a golf cart on the sidewalk?A: A golf cart is a motor vehicle and pursuant to Vehicle Code Section 21663, motor vehicles cannot be operated on sidewalks except to enter and exit adjacent property. Golf carts can only be operated on highways with speed limits of no more than 25 MPH. Q: My mother and 17-year-old brother are coming to visit from New York next month for three weeks, but I'm worried that they won't be able to drive themselves around when I am at work. She has a valid New York driver's license and my brother has a valid New York instruction permit. Will this be enough for them to drive in California: A: In your mother's case, visitors over age 18 with a valid driver's license from their home state or country will be allowed to drive without getting a California driver's license. In your brother's case, he will only be allowed to drive for the first 10 days of his visit using his New York instruction permit. After the 10-day period, he will need to get either a California's driver's license or a nonresident minor's certificate. This certificate is issued by the DMV to a minor who has provided proof of financial responsibility. Q: Can I make payments to the DMV through my bank? A: Yes. The DMV has the capability to accept fees for its online services, such as registration and driver's license renewal fees, through online checking as long as you provide your bank with the license plate number of your vehicle. Contact your bank for details regarding your account allowances and limitations or visit www.dmv.ca.gov/faq. Q: Are there restrictions that minors must follow when they hold a provisional license? A: The law makes the following exceptions when reasonable transportation is not available and it is necessary for a minor to drive. For all exceptions, a signed note must be kept in the minor's possession at all times explaining the necessity and the date it will end: •Medical necessity when there are no other reasonable forms of transportation. A note must be signed by a physician and explain the diagnosis and the probable date of recovery. •Schooling or school-authorized activity. A note must be signed by the school principal, dean or his/her designee. •Employment necessity. If a vehicle must be operated as part of employment, the note must be signed by the employer verifying employment. •Your necessity or the necessity of an immediate family member. The note must be signed by a parent or legal guardian. If you are an emaciated minor, no documentation is needed. However, emancipation must have already been declared and proof of financial responsibility must have been provided to the DMV in lieu of guarantors' signatures. Do you have questions about general driving-related requirements like registration and car insurance? Are you unclear about laws and restrictions related to driving? The California Department of Motor Vehicles has answers at www.dmv.ca.gov.
********** Published: January 13, 2011 - Volume 9 - Issue 39