CD Review

The eagerly anticipated fifth studio album, Invaders Must Die, by The Prodigy was finally released to their American fans on March 3. This is the first album in five years that the British hardcore electronic rock band has released and is also the first album under the new band label, Take Me to the Hospital.The band was a huge hit in the early 1990s with hardcore ravers and technoids; many of which are glad that they have continued to keep their old-school ways with their new albums while still adding a few new simple touches and sounds. The opening track "Invaders Must Die" definitely shows how far the band has come and almost makes you laugh when you listen to the lyrics. With its opening line, "We are The Prodigy," then followed up by, "Invaders must die," it makes you wonder what the band is trying to say. It seems as if they are letting everyone know that they are back and for all others to step aside, which is pretty amusing when you think about the other bands trying to step up to the plate like "Hadouken!" Invaders Must Die is the first album to feature all three band members since 1997 and even features James Rushnet, from Does It Offend You, Yeah? as a co-producer on the tracks "Omen" and "Invaders Must Die." Dave Grohl, from Foo Fighters was also featured on drums for the tracks "Run with the Wolves" and the ending song "Stand Up," which off a sense of ending coming to the night and for the club-goers to return home. Invaders Must Die comes with a CD and a bonus DVD that includes a few songs from the album. The album runs for $14.99 at Best Buy and many other stores like Target. The album was a huge success in the U.K. making it to the top of the charts and even made it to the top five in many other countries. When released to the U.S. it opened at No. 117 on the charts but quickly jumped to No. 58 within the second week. While it may not be too high on the charts for the U.S. Billboard, it is still obvious that the band is a huge hit worldwide with its great electronic beats and rave dance tracks, making it an album that definitely belongs on your iTunes playlist.

********** Published: May 15, 2009 - Volume 8 - Issue 4